About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2013 John McLendon Award

APRIL 5, 2013


ATLANTA, GA -- Georgetown's John Thompson III is the recipient of the 2013 John McLendon National Coach of the Year award.

"Coach Thompson took a team, which many experts thought was middle of the pack at best and won the Big East Conference," said CollegeInsider.com co-Founder Angela Lento. "This is a well deserved honor for an outstanding person and coach."

The John McLendon award is presented annually to the top collegiate head coach. The award will encompass Division I, Division II, Division III, NAIA and JUCO.
A trailblazer and one of the true pioneers of the game, McLendon became the first African American coach to win an integrated national championship. His team went on to win the NAIA Division I Men's Tournament in 1957, 1958 and 1959, making him the first coach in history to win three consecutive NAIA championships.
In 1962 he became the first African American head coach in a major professional league (ABL) with the Cleveland Pipers. In 1966 he became the first African American head coach of predominantly-white university, when he took over the Cleveland State program. He led the team to their best record in school history.
In 1969, McLendon was hired by the Denver Rockets and became the first African American head coach in the American Basketball Association. After a brief stint with the Rockets, McLendon ended his 25-year professional coaching career with a winning percentage of .760 and a lifetime career average of 523 victories and 165 losses.


Dana Altman (Oregon)
Chris Bartley (Worcester Polytechnic Institute)
John Beilein (Michigan)
Tom Billeter (Augustana College)
Derrick Clark (Metropolitan State)
Jim Crews (Saint Louis)
Jim Crutchfield (West Liberty)
Jim Larranaga (Miami)
Johnny Tauer (Saint Thomas)
John Thompson III (Georgetown)


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.